Estd. 1956

NAAC Accredited "B+" Grade


Our Motto - Truth and Love

Department of Philosophy

About Department:


Two Irish Dominican priests Fr. Ephraem McCarthy OP (1959- ) and Fr. Thomas Ryan OP (1959-) were the pioneering teachers in the early years. They were the members of the Nagpur Philosophical Society. The society met regularly and had fruitful sessions, which were appreciated by all. Later Mr. Mule and Mr. Sathe succeeded them. Fr. Anthony D’ Souza was Head of the Department of Philosophy from 1977-2010. In the course of time Fr. James Palakudy SAC (1993-2000), Fr. Deepak Paulson OP (2000-2006, 2012-2013), and Fr. Walter Rodrigues O.P. were teachers in the Department of Philosophy. With the retirement of Fr. Anthony D’Souza in 2010, the post of lecturer remained vacant. Fr. Praveen D’Souza who rendered his service as contributory lecturer from June 2011 to September 2013, was officially appointed to the post of Assistant Professor on 4th September 2013.

About the Subject:

Philosophy is known as the mother of all sciences. It deals with the ultimate causes of things. It gives us a worldview. It deals with ultimate realities in a critical way. Like all sciences, philosophy bestows direct benefit on the individual. Clarity of thought, logical reasoning and precise expression are the effects of undertaking a study of the subject.

Vision: To enable students to have ethical outlook, clarity of thought, logical reasoning, precise expression and knowledge of reality.

Mission: To impart knowledge through innovative research, committed teaching and selfless service.

Courses conducting:

Bachelor of Arts (BA) with Philosophy as one of the subjects.

Strength allotted: 80 per class

Course Structure:

Class Syllabus
Semester I Indian Ethics
Semester II Western Ethics
Semester III Indian Logic
Semester IV Western Logic
Semester V Indian Epistemology and Metaphysics
Semester VI Western Epistemology and Metaphysics

Course Outcome:

  1. Students will be able to understand and discuss major philosophical problems in the   
  2. Indian and Western Traditions.
  3. Students will be able to express complex thoughts logically and coherently.
  4. Students will be able to apply their philosophical learning to important public
  5. issues and articulate their thoughts well in such debates.
  6. Students will develop their own philosophical areas of interest and investigate them    
  7. from various perspectives.
  8. Students will learn and articulate fundamental metaphysical questions about what   exists; epistemological inquiries such as what we can know; and ethical aspects such as how we should live our lives, etc.
  9. Students will be able to describe the ways in which the formal techniques of logic are important to philosophical research.
  10. Students will acquire reading skills necessary to understand and critically engage with historical and contemporary philosophical texts.
  11. Students will be aware of the existence of multiple philosophical traditions, particularly our own Indian tradition, and will be able to reflect on the similarities and differences of such traditions.

Teaching Staff:

Name Qualification Designation

1. Fr. Praveen Agnello D’Souza


M.A.(Philosophy), NET Assistant Professor


Departmental Library –

Apart from the existing books and journals, the section of books in Philosophy is being enhanced by the addition of fresh titles.

Good collection of textbooks, recommended books and many other books related to the subject are being added to the collection – source books, commentaries, and critical works of authors on related topics.


Meritorious Students –

The student who obtains highest marks in Philosophy over a three year period at R.T.M. Nagpur University Examinations are awarded the following Awards/Medals.

  1. Sir Arthur Blennerhassett Memorial Silver Medal.
  2. Late Raghwandra Wanmanrao Lakhar Memorial Prize.
  3. Late Shri. Moreshwar Wasudeorao Deshpande Prize.

The medal winners from our Department are –

Sr. No. Name Class Year Medal/Award
1. Bro. Indona Alphons B.A.Final 1970 Silver Prize
2. Bro. Orsete J. Dias B.A.Final 1971 Silver Prize
3. Bro. Anthony G. William B.A.Final 1972 Silver Prize
4. Bro. E. James Luke B.A. Final 1973 Silver Prize
5. Bro. Mathai Mathew B.A. Final 1980 9th merit
6. Bro. Francis S. B.A. Final 1982  
7. Bro. Derrick J.B. Pinto B.A. Final 1983  
8. Bro. Francis D’Souza B.A. Final 1986  
9. Bro. Andrew Santiago Costa B.A. Final 1987  
10. Bro. S. Soosai Raj B.A. Final 1989  
11. Bro. Roque Placido Rebello B.A. Final 1994  
12. Ms. Ritika Goenka B.A. Part I 1995 Philosophy Prize
13. Bro. Rajesh Kumar Lugun B.A. Final 2001  
14. Bro. Rijo B.A. Final 2005  
15. Bro. Subodh Kerketta B.A. Final 2014 Gold Medal
16. Bro. Ajeesh K.O. B.A. Final 2016 Gold Medal
17. Bro. Mangal Soy B.A. Final 2018 Gold Medal
18. Bro. Subin Sunil B.A. Final 2019 Gold Medal

Among the prominent Alumni are:

  • Bishop Anthony Chirayath of Sagar diocese.
  • Bishop Gerald Mathias of Simla-Chandigarh diocese.
  • Bishop Victor Henry Thakur of Bethiah diocese.
  • Bishop Alwyn Barretto of Sindhudurg diocese.
  • V. Rev. Agnelo Fernandes, superior General of MSFS, Rome.
  • V. Rev. Tony Lopes, superior General of SFX, Goa.
  • Rev. Fr. John Kusumalayam, Prior Provincial, Dominicans in India.
  • Rev. Fr. Varghese Pullan, Provincial of SAC, Nagpur.
  • Rev. Fr. Paulson Deepak, Rector, St. Charles Seminary, Nagpur.