Estd. 1956

NAAC Accredited "B+" Grade


Our Motto - Truth and Love

Department of Physics

About Department

The objective of Physics Department is to inculcate conceptual learning so as to excel in Physics and to develop as a center for excellence in Physics. The Department imparts quality education and to develop scientific temperament among young minds. Activities of the Department are in tune with the vision and mission of the College.

Department of Physics was established in 1957. Department had long and cherished history of prominent teachers Late Prof. G. M. Puvathingal (Head of the Department from 1957 to 1998), Late Dr. A.V. Barahate, Dr. M.Y. Apte, and Prof. A. J. Bal.

Presently Department has optimum full time dedicated, motivated and well qualified and staff.. Two staff members recently completed their Ph.D. One UGC Minor Research project has been completed by the department. Physics teaching staff members published several articles in national and international journals and have written books. Recently (Session 2019-20) Department of Physics started PG course Physics affiliated to RTM Nagpur University.

The Department of Physics is committed to impart quality education in Physics with available infrastructure and resources and utilizing the ICT methods offering ample opportunities for making students leaders not only in academics but for exceling in extracurriculars. Department emphasizes on practical aspect of teaching Physics. Department provides a platform for excellence and creates an atmosphere of scientific temperament, developing a culture of inquisitiveness among students through:

i. Innovative Model Making Competition Prof GM Puvathingal Innovative Model Making Competition.

ii. Dr. M.Y. Apte Award for scoring highest marks in Physics in B.Sc. level

iii. Power point lectures and Notes in pdf form are prepared and updated and provided to students to facilitate blended mode of teaching

iv. Few Video lectures prepared and uploaded on YouTube by some staff members

v. Motivating students to take-up internship at institutes of importance

vi. Arrange educational visits to institute of importance like Raman Science Centre & CIMFER etc.

vii. Projects works are conducted

viii. Arranging a center of NGPE -IAPT Examination

ix. Students Seminar Competition (VUPTA seminars)

x. Poster making competitions

xi. Guest lectures by experts

xii. Workshops are organized (like programming languages PYTHON etc.)

xiii. Power point competitions

xiv. Encouraged students to participate in events conducted by other institutes/ colleges like seminar competition, science exhibition, poster competition, essay competition,

xv. Conducting SWOT analysis

xvi. Conducting Bridge courses

xvii. Mentoring is done

Students Achievements / Placements

● Ku. Parminder Kaur Dhillon 3rd Merit of RTMNU in 2018-19

● Ku. Rashmi Malik (2017-18): Infosys Ltd.

● Ku. Priyanka Bertram -Ist Merit in RTMNU in 2012-13.

Recent Pass out Students studying in Higher Education
Sr no
Name of StudentCourse & Subject studying /College/ Institute
  1.  Ku. Namiksha RotwalM. Sc PhysicsInstitute Of Science (Autonomous), Nagpur
  2.  Ku Shafaque Tabassum Mohd. NazirM.Sc MathematicsSFS College, Nagpur
  3.  Ku Vaishali Kishor PaliwalM.Sc Computer ScienceShivaji Science College, Nagpur
  4.  Megha DamaheM.Sc MathematicsInstitute of Science (Autonomous), Nagpur
  5.  Agnes AlappatM.Sc PhysicsPGTD of Physics campus RTMNU
  6.  Ratnasambhav SahuM.Sc StatisticsPGTD of Statistics campus RTMNU
  7.  Saba AfsheenM.Sc (Physics)Dr Ambedkar College. Deekshabhoomi, Nagpur
  8.  Sukhreet Kaur MarasM.Sc. MathematicsPGTD of Mathamatics campus RTMNU
  9.  Shifa Anjum Khatib .M.Sc MathematicsPGTD of Mathamatics campus RTMNU
  10.  Pooja Gorle.Course: MSc PhysicsInstitute Of Science (Autonomous), Nagpur
  11.  Gaurav SharmaM.Sc Computer sciencePGTD of Computer Science campus RTMNU
  12.  Rahul ThamattorM.Sc PhysicsPGTD of Physics campus RTMNU
  13.  Ragini ShrungareM.Sc PhysicsPGTD of Physics campus RTMNU
  14.  Sakshi PahuneM.Sc Computer ScienceTaywade College, Koradi
  15.  Sakshi OzaMCARamdeobaba college of Engineering and Management,Nagpur